in implementation guides ~ read.
Salesforce Defer Sharing Tipsheet

Salesforce Defer Sharing Tipsheet

DOWNLOAD

First things first !
To download this implementation guide, click the download button below.
If you need more information about the implementation guide, you can read the Table of Contents below.

Download

UNDERSTANDING DEFER SHARING

CALCULATIONS

What is Defer Sharing Calculation
Defer Sharing Calculation lets an administrator suspend and resume sharing calculations This permission affects group membership
calculation and sharing rule calculation Performing a large number of configuration changes can lead to very long sharing rule evaluations
or time outs To avoid these issues an administrator can suspend these calculations and resume calculations during an organizations
maintenance period

How can I enable Defer Sharing Calculation

The Defer Sharing Calculation permission is not enabled by default To enable Defer Sharing Calculation please contact Salesforce

When should I use Defer Sharing Calculation

Administrators should plan to suspendresume sharing calculations during maintenance windows to have minimal impact on users
For example you make large number of changes to criteria based sharing rules to allow access to specific groups and territories Since
sharing rule calculation is enabled by default those sharing rule changes are evaluated immediately and can take a very long time to
process and cause your organization to time out
With Defer Sharing Calculation you can avoid this by suspending sharing rule calculations from evaluating immediately after you make
sharing rule changes You can resume sharing rule calculations during maintenance windows to have minimal impact on users

What is Group Membership Calculation
Group membership calculates access any time you make changes to
Roles
Territories
Groups
Users
Portal Account Ownership
Group membership calculation is enabled by default
To suspend or resume group membership calculation
From Setup enter Defer Sharing Calculations in the Quick Find box then select Defer Sharing Calculations
In the Group Membership Calculations related list click Suspend
Note If sharing rule calculations are enabled suspending group membership calculations also suspends sharing rule
calculations Resuming group membership calculations also requires full sharing rule recalculation
Make your changes to roles territories groups users or portal account ownership
To enable group membership calculation click Resume

Last updated February

Understanding Defer Sharing Calculations

What is Sharing Rule Calculation

What is Sharing Rule Calculation
Sharing rule calculates access any time you
Change an organizations default sharing model
Create edit or delete sharing rules
Create or transfer any records
Update public group members
Create or activate a user
Change or reparent roles
Add or remove users from territories
Reparent territories
Make changes to roles territories or public groups participating in sharing rules
Sharing rule calculation is enabled by default
To suspend resume or recalculate sharing rule calculation
From Setup enter Defer Sharing Calculations in the Quick Find box then select Defer Sharing Calculations
In the Sharing Rule Calculations related list click Suspend
Make changes to sharing rules roles territories or public groups participating in sharing rules
Note Any changes to sharing rules require a full recalculation
To enable sharing rule calculation click Resume
To manually recalculate sharing rules click Recalculate
The sharing rule recalculation process may take a very long time depending on the size of the organization and the number of changes
performed

When do I have to recalculate my sharing rules

Use the Recalculate buttons on the Sharing Rules related lists only if sharing rule updates have failed or are not working as expected
Recalculate only if your sharing rule updates have failed or if you have deferred suspended and resumed sharing rule calculations

What happens when I suspend Group Membership or Sharing Rule

Calculations
When you suspend group membership or sharing rule calculations sharing evaluations are disabled Any configuration changes made
to groups or sharing rules will not take effect until you resume group membership and sharing rule calculation

Notification emails are sent to the administrator ONLY when group membership calculation and sharing rule recalculation is complete

respectively

How can I view the current Sharing status

All sharing related changes are logged in the audit trail including when an administrator suspends resumes or recalculates sharing
calculations
To view setup audit trail

Understanding Defer Sharing Calculations

How can I view the current Sharing status

From Setup enter View Setup Audit Trail in the Quick Find box then select View Setup Audit Trail
To download your organizations full setup history for the past days click the Download link

***